## UC Irvine Chemistry professors win teaching awards from the UC Irvine Division of Teaching Excellence and Innovation

The awards recognize faculty and instructors for excellence in undergraduate teaching. Friday, November 22, 2024 Sukriti Kapur UC Irvine Physical Sciences Communications



Professors Renée Link and Sarah Finkeldei of the UC Irvine Department of Chemistry.

Picture Credit: UC Irvine UC Irvine Department of Chemistry professors Renée Link and Sarah Finkeldei recently received Excellence in Digital Learning and Dean's Honoree for Teaching Excellence awards, respectively. Awarded by the UC Irvine Division of Teaching Excellence and Innovation (DTEI), the honors recognize faculty, instructors and teaching assistants who demonstrate excellence in undergraduate teaching at UC Irvine.

The Excellence in Digital Learning award recognizes an instructor who deploys innovative and effective uses of instructional technology and online teaching practices. As a professor of teaching, Link integrated digital tools to enhance student learning and engagement in organic chemistry labs. "I'm honored to be recognized for this award," said Link, who's a professor of teaching. "As the needs of students evolve, our teaching strategies must make use of all the tools we have at our disposal to meet and grow with them."

The Dean's Honoree for Teaching Excellence recognizes instructors nominated by the dean of each school. Dean James Bullock recognized Finkeldei's accomplishments in undergraduate teaching. "I'm honored by this recognition and very grateful for the enthusiasm and curiosity of our students, which makes teaching a truly rewarding experience," said Finkeldei.

Professor Kimberly Edwards of UC Irvine Chemistry received an honorary mention for DTEI's Excellence in Pedagogical Development award. The award recognizes an instructor who has spent considerable time and effort engaging in various pedagogical development opportunities, including mentoring graduate students in pedagogy, facilitating pedagogical development opportunities for colleagues or departments or engaging in their own pedagogical development. Link also received an honorary mention for the Dr. De Gallow Professor of the Year award, which recognizes a faculty member who excels in teaching through the use of methods that positively impact diverse student populations.

Link and Finkeldei received their awards at UC Irvine's 32nd annual Celebration of Teaching on September 19, 2024.

*This article was written by Ph.D. student Sukriti Kapur from the UC Irvine Department of Chemistry. Kapur is a 2024-2025 UC Irvine School of Physical Sciences Science Communication Fellow.* 

## News Briefs

Chemistry Instruction Awards View PDF