2024 Lee Lecture and Awards Dinner Recognizes Graduate Excellence in Chemistry

Friday, May 24, 2024 UCI School of Physical Sciences



Professors Sarah Finkeldei and Maxx Arguilla emceed the awards dinner that recognized graduate student excellence in the Department of Chemistry.

On Thursday, May 9th, the UCI Department of Chemistry hosted the 2024 Lee Lecture and Awards Dinner. Joseph S. Francisco, President's Distinguished Professor of Chemistry at the University of Pennsylvania, gave the lecture on his research into the chemistry behind acid rain. The lecture was followed by an awards dinner, hosted by Professors Sarah Finkeldei and Maxx Arguilla, that recognized graduate student excellence in the chemistry department.

The E.K.C. Lee Lecture and Dinner honors one of Chemistry's founding faculty: Professor Edward Lee. Ed came to the U.S. for undergraduate studies at Kansas Wesleyan University and graduated as valedictorian in his class. He then joined Sherry Rowland's Group at the University of Kansas where he completed his Ph.D. studies in just 3.5 years. He helped run the Rowland Group in Kansas while Sherry was here, setting up the new UCI Chemistry Department. Ed began at UCI as an Assistant Professor in 1965 and was promoted to full Professor in a total of just six years – a record of rapid promotion not yet exceeded on this campus. In addition to his exemplary scientific achievements in his too brief life, Ed was even more respected for his integrity, cooperation, and friendship. To honor Ed, the Department established the annual Lee Lecture and Dinner beginning in 1988.

Congratulations to the awardees:

Catherine Seo

Chemistry Mentorship Award

Jose Uribe

Graduate Award for Departmental Service

Amanda Abiad

Most Promising Future Faculty

James Griffin

Most Promising Future Faculty

Katherine Hopstock

Outstanding Contribution to the Chemistry Department - Honored by School of Physical Sciences

Emma Brass

Contributions to the Chemistry Department Teaching Program by a TA - 1st Year

Alexis Ravenscroft

Contributions to the Chemistry Department Teaching Program by a TA - 1st Year

Chelsea Jones

Contributions to the Chemistry Department Teaching Program by a TA - Continuing

Jordan Castro

Contributions to the Chemistry Department Teaching Program by a TA - Continuing

Praveen Prabhakar

Contributions to the Chemistry Department Teaching Program by a TA - upperdivision student

Sebastian Fernandez

Don L. Bunker Award

Megan Rocha

Graduate Student Award from the American Institute of Chemists

Jose Uribe

Smitrovich Prize

Patrick McShea

Gebel Award
Madison Landi
Gebel Award
Kasey Edwards
·
Gebel Award
Austin Green
W 16 1
Wolfsberg Award in Theoretical Chemistry
Xintong Hou
Hal Moore Award
Katherine Hopstock
Joan Rowland Award
Elizabeth Diessner
Edward K.C. Lee Award
View PDF