Megan Crawford

Title: 
Technical Project Manager
Company: 
ADEC Innovations
Education: 

B.S. Earth System Science (2015)

Specialization in Hydrology and Terrestrial Ecosystems

Minors in Biological Sciences and Global Sustainability

Career Path: 

I graduated from UCI in 2015 and began working at ADEC Innovations (formerly FirstCarbon Solutions) as an entry-level analyst. I began my career providing support on small projects, gradually working my way up to my position as an a technical project manager with greater responsibilities across a variety of sustainability projects. Currently, I perform a variety of tasks from project management to corporate greenhouse gas inventorying and sustainability reporting.

Prior to graduation, I held a position at UCI's Police Department as a Community Service Officer (CSO) and interned with PowerSave Campus Program and Center for Environmental Biology (CEB). I also participated in undergraduate research through the Department of Earth System Science in Claudia Czimczik's lab.

In the future, I hope to pursue a stimulating career in natural resources management (i.e. National Park Service, California State Parks or alternative state agency, National Forest Service, Bureau of Land Management, local organizations, etc.). And also spend 1-2 years doing seasonal research at a base, such as McMurdo Station, in Antarctica.

Career Experience: 
Environmental/Sustainability Consulting
Affiliations: 
Past UCI Affiliations: ASUCI Office of Academic Affairs, VP/uTeach Program, UC Irvine Police Department CSO Program, PowerSave Campus Program, Center for Environmental Biology, Department of ESS - Czimczik Research Group
Personal Interests: 
I love the outdoors. I would go camping and hiking everyday if I didn't have to work. I’m actually thinking about trying this once per week because why not?
https://www.rei.com/blog/camp/semi-rad-weeknight-camping-is-worth-your-time
I also like animals (cats, dogs, reptiles, all animals!), reading, riding my bike, watching Netflix/Hulu/Disney+/Amazon Prime Video, online shopping, and road trips.
I love traveling! Top on my list of places to travel is Antarctica to see the penguins and maybe study ice sheet surface mass balance.
Two years ago, I took a six month long sabbatical and traveled to Denver and Colorado Springs, San Francisco, Portland, Vancouver (Canada AND Washington), North Carolina and Hong Kong to name a few places.
I also just went to French Polynesia in March and I'm looking forward to planning another trip soon.
Favorites:
Food - Poke
Animal - Okapi
Movie Genre - Horror/Suspense/Thriller
Book - Walden (Thoreau)
Sport - Hockey and Soccer
Color - Red
Season - Fall
Type of Students: 
I can best assist an undergraduate student studying ESS or similar field that is interested in a career in environmental sciences.
I've worked in the environmental/sustainability consulting field since I graduated from UCI in 2015. I don't have experience with applying to/attending graduate school, but have more real work experience in the field.
Number of Students I can Mentor: 
2
Joined Date: 
4 years 6 months ago
Ideal Mentoring Relationship: 
I am available for remote mentoring through email, phone, Zoom, Skype, etc. during the pandemic. I'm currently working remotely and have a pretty flexible schedule.
If COVID restrictions are lifted later on during the school year, I am available to meet in person in the Orange County area.
Remote Mentor: 
YES