Anais Gharabegian

Senior Mechanical Engineer
Raytheon Technologies

MBA at UCLA Anderson 2023

Masters of Science in Mechanical Engineering at Florida Tech 2017

Bachelor of Science at Physics at UC Irvine 2014

Career Path: 

I started interning and working at a smarthome technology company in my last year at UCI. I then moved to a midsize aerospace company as a CAD designer of HVAC parts for a few months,  before moving to Florida to work for Northrop Grumman.

At Northrop Grumman, I held positions in Systems Engineering, Mechanical Engineering and Project Management. I was also involved with our Environmental ERG, by being on the board and organizing events. I then moved back to Los Angeles after getting my Masters, and started working at Raytheon as a Senior Mechanical Engineer. At Raytheon I have volunteered for many mentorship programs, especially teaching K-12 students about STEM and reviewing resumes of college students. I have been on the board of the Hispanic ERG at Raytheon, supporting SHPE at universities by hosting events and presenting at conferences like RLDC. At the onset of Covid, I decided to apply for a part time MBA at UCLA, and have been attending the program since.

During my MBA, I have been exploring entrepreneurship, hoping to start a company during my last year. For our thesis project, we are expanding a smarthome installation company to new markets.

Career Experience: 
Aerospace industry as a Mechanical and Systems Engineer Smarthome industry Entrepreneurship
UC Irvine alumni from Physical Sciences department
Personal Interests: 
My current obsession has been NFTs and web3, because I am an artist and want to explore new avenues to sell art. I have been attending several conferences and networking events this year in the space.
I am even collaborating with some people to launch NFT collections and start a metaverse business.
Sometimes I photograph local LA events, like film festivals, and nature/architecture when I travel. To work out, I enjoy hiking, surfing, volleyball and yoga.
Type of Students: 
An open minded student who enjoys learning new things and has a broad range of interests.
I especially can help students who are involved in many organizations or side projects on or off campus and volunteer a lot.
Number of Students I can Mentor: 
1 or 2
Joined Date: 
1 year 8 months ago
Ideal Mentoring Relationship: 
Casual conversation, and giving advice to each other. You can learn from anyone no matter their experience.
If someone wants to meet more frequently than once a month, I am open to that as well.
Remote Mentor: