Facts & Figures

The School of Physical Sciences was established as one of the founding schools at UC Irvine and accepted its first students in 1965.

Students earn degrees and conduct research in 4 departments:  Chemistry, Earth System Science, Mathematics, and Physics & Astronomy.

Approximately 1,208 undergraduate students are enrolled in Physical Sciences majors and 516 graduate students. Doctoral degrees are also granted from all 4 departments. 140 faculty members, 121 researchers, 75 post-docs, and 130  staff members keep the School of Physical Sciences moving forward.


John V. Croul Hall, home of the top-ranked Department of Earth System Science, houses the W. M. Keck Carbon Cycle Accelerator Mass Spectrometry Facility, the 1st of its kind in the United States dedicated exclusively to  research on the environmental processes that contribute to the greenhouse effect and global warming.


State-of-the-art multidisciplinary research takes place at the School of Physical Sciences’ 12 research units, centers and institutes:


Reines-Square.jpgThe School of Physical Sciences has 13 specialized research facilities: